Nine new Nominated MPs to be appointed from Jan 21

SINGAPORE – Olympic swimmer Mark Chay, conservation scientist Koh Lian Pin, and security officer association head Joshua Thomas Raj are among the nine new Nominated MPs (NMPs) who will be appointed by President Halimah Yacob for a 2 1/2 year term starting next Thursday (Jan 21).

The others are union leader Abdul Samad Abdul Wahab, SISTIC chairman Janet Ang, GuocoLand group managing director Cheng Hsing Yao, Singapore Management University professor and economist Hoon Hian Teck, dental surgeon and National Youth Council member Shahira Abdullah, and Singapore Medical Association president Tan Yia Swam.

All are first-time NMPs, and their names were announced by Parliament on Thursday (Jan 14).

They were selected by a Special Select Committee of Parliament, chaired by Speaker Tan Chuan-Jin, from a total of 61 nominated candidates.

Source: Read Full Article