Canada and Denmark added to green list but Turkey still on red

Canada, Denmark and Finland are among seven new countries that have been added to the UK’s green list, the Department of Transport has announced.

Lithuania, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and the Azores have also been downgraded to green, meaning travellers returning to the UK won’t have to quarantine.

Meanwhile, Montenegro and Thailand have been bumped up to red, meaning returning British and Irish nationals must quarantine in a government-approved hotel for 11 days at a cost of more than £2,000.

The new rules will come into force at 4am on Monday August 30, in the final update to the traffic-light system before the end of summer.

Turkey and Pakistan were among the red-list countries hoping to be moved on to amber, meaning all passengers would be allowed into the UK again as long as they test negative for Covid before travelling

However there have been no changes to the amber list, which allows travellers to avoid quarantine if they are double jabbed.

Countries are rated based on Covid case, vaccine and variant rate.

Got a story? Get in touch with our news team by emailing us at [email protected] Or you can submit your videos and pictures here.

For more stories like this, check our news page.

Follow on Twitter and Facebook for the latest news updates. You can now also get articles sent straight to your device. Sign up for our daily push alerts here.

Source: Read Full Article