Where in world is Queen still head of state? Barbados to replace Queen next month

Queen's absence from COP26 would be a 'big deal' says expert

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Dame Sandra Mason, 72, will be sworn in as Barbados’ first-ever president on November 30, after gaining the two-thirds vote of a joint session of Barbados’ House of Assembly and Senate. Ms Mason will be sworn in on the 55th anniversary of Barbados’ independence from Britain.

Ms Mason was the first woman to serve on the Barbados Court of Appeals, and she has been Governor-General of Barbados since 2018.

Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley called the election of a president “a seminal moment'” in the country’s journey.

Ms Mottley said: “We have just elected from among us a woman who is uniquely and passionately Barbadian, does not pretend to be anything else (and) reflects the values of who we are.”

Last year, the government in Barbados announced its plans to become a republic.

Barbados is following the decision of several other countries in the Caribbean, with Guyana becoming a republic in 1970.

Trinidad and Tobago also became a republic in 1976, as did Dominica in 1978.

Ms Mason will replace Queen Elizabeth II as Barbados’ head of state next month.

Where is the Queen head of state?

The Queen is head of state in the United Kingdom, and the UK operates as a constitutional monarchy.

While the Queen is head of state, the ability to make and pass legislation lies with the elected Parliament.

In the UK, the prime minister is elected while the monarch has a largely ceremonial role.

Queen’s absence at COP26 would be a ‘big deal’ [VIDEO]
TWO reasons why the Queen may NEVER step down for Prince Charles [ANALYSIS]
Prince William had ‘second thoughts’ over relationship with Kate [INSIGHT]

In addition to the UK, the Queen is head of state in several other countries, including:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tuvalu

Which countries are in the Commonwealth?

The Commonwealth of Nations, often known as just the Commonwealth, is a political and voluntary association of countries.

Many of the countries in the Commonwealth were once part of the British Empire.

According to the Commonwealth website, there are 54 countries in the Commonwealth to date.

Countries in the Commonwealth include:


  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Gambia, The
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Kingdom of Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Zambia


  • Bangladesh
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • India
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Pakistan
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka

Caribbean and Americas

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas, The
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Lucia
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago


  • Cyprus
  • Malta
  • United Kingdom


  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

Source: Read Full Article