Peterborough by-election 2019 polling: When do polls open, what time do polls close?

The Peterborough by-election is the first of its kind, as residents became the first constituency to successfully petition to sack their MP. Labour’s Fiona Onasanya was recalled from her post after being jailed for lying in court about a speeding offence. Now, Peterborough will elect its new representative in Parliament.

What are poll times?

Across Peterborough, polls are open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday, June 6.

You can use the postcode search tool to find out which constituency you’re in and where your polling station is.

What time will we have results?

No official statement has been made, but the count will follow general election count practice.

Counts at UK Parliamentary general elections are required by law to begin within four hours of the polls closing.

If not, the returning officer overseeing the count must report to the Electoral Commission with the reasons for delay.

In this case, it’s likely we’ll have results from the by-election in the early hours of Friday morning.

Who are the candidates?

  • Peterborough will choose between the following candidates:
  • Brexit Party – Mike Greene
  • Christian People’s Alliance – Tom Rogers
  • Common Good: Remain in the EU – Dick Rodgers
  • Conservatives – Paul Bristow
  • English Democrats – Stephen Goldspink
  • Green Party – Joseph Wells
  • Independent – Andrew John Moore
  • Independent – Bobby Smith
  • Labour – Lisa Forbes
  • Liberal Democrats – Beki Sellick
  • Official Monster Raving Loony Party – Alan “Howling Laud” Hope
  • Renew – Peter Ward
  • SDP Fighting for Brexit – Patrick O’Flynn
  • UK European Union Party – Pierre Kirk
  • UKIP – John Whitby

Who is likely to win?

Opinion polls give Nigel Farage’s Brexit Party the best shot at taking the seat.

The party is just seven weeks old, and after cleaning up in the European Parliament election, now looks set to have its first MP.

Peterborough voted overwhelmingly for the Brexit Party in the European Parliament elections.

Source: Read Full Article