Tory leadership vote – results in full as final six candidates revealed

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The leadership contest was called after Boris Johnson announced his intention to resign on July 7, following a mass walk out of Tory MPs in Government posts. The Tory Party’s 1922 Committee announced the leadership contest would begin today, and the next prime minister is set to be announced on September 5.

Before the first round of voting took place, Rishi Sunak and Penny Mordaunt were made favourites by pollsters.

A YouGov poll published today showed Conservative Party members overwhelmingly backed Ms Mordaunt to get the top job in Downing Street, with 27 percent of votes.

The second favourite, according to the poll, is Kemi Badenoch on 15 percent, and Mr Sunak is in third place on 13 percent.

Candidates such as Nadhim Zahawi and Suella Braverman are considered to be outsiders in the race.

Who has made it through to the next round?

Penny Mordaunt – 67

Kemi Badenoch – 40

Rishi Sunak – 88

Liz Truss – 50

Tom Tugendhat – 37

Suella Braverman – 32

Jeremy Hunt -18 (eliminated)

Nadhim Zahawi – 25 (eliminated)

More updates will be shared shortly…

Source: Read Full Article