Sen. Paul, Reps. Omar and Gabbard reject early access to COVID-19 vaccine

More On:

COVID vaccine

Fauci, Azar receive Moderna COVID-19 vaccine

CEO ‘confident’ vaccine will work against new COVID-19 strain

US to study allergic reactions from Pfizer’s COVID-19 vaccine

Pfizer, Moderna testing COVID-19 vaccines against new UK strain

A growing number of lawmakers are rejecting the opportunity to take a coronavirus vaccine ahead of their constituents — as they condemn the arrogance of Congress’ early access to the potential life-saving jab.

Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) and Reps. Brian Mast (R-Fla.), Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.), Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hi.), Elise Stefanik (R-NY) and Jeff Van Drew (R-NJ) have all come out this week and said they will refuse the vaccine until all frontline health care workers and seniors were inoculated.

When Gabbard furiously tweeted her outrage about the situation Monday, arguing that the rules were made by “[h]eartless, arrogant, unelected CDC bureaucrats,” Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-Fla.) also wrote a message of support, though it is not clear if he has declined the early access to the shot.

The lawmakers were then joined by incoming Rep.-elect Nancy Mace (R-SC), who pledged that she, too, would refuse the jab if it meant she would be skipping the line.

Rep. Ilhan Omar Campaigns For Re-Election Days Before Minnesota PrimaryRepublicans and Democrats continue to negotiate on a COVID 19 coronavirus relief packageDemocratic Presidential Candidate Tulsi Gabbard Holds Super Tuesday Primary Night Event In DetroitSen. Lindsey Graham Holds Campaign Bus Tour In South Carolina Ahead Of ElectionGOP Leadership Elections

View Slideshow

Source: Read Full Article